GP’s link roundup, pt. 1

I spend a lot of time thinking about what to write for this dang blog, but I also realize just how much media I consume every week. I read/listen to/watch a lot of great stuff, and I realized that sharing it with you all is a good idea. So here’s a link roundup of some great stuff I’ve been focused on lately.

Podcasts:

  • Dear Sugar Radio: Looking for The One
    • It’s February. The month that a whole lot of single people often dread. I’m trying to take a more positive outlook on Valentine’s Day this year, but I do find this topic fascinating and one that I continually re-visit with friends and family.  I particularly found part two intriguing because it looks at this topic from an economics lens – something I have no familiarity with.
  • NYT Modern Love
    • If you follow me on any form of social media, you’ve seen me post a Modern Love essay. It’s a fabulous series of reader-submitted essays that talk about love in all of its various and weird forms. They’ve now expanded this concept to a podcast. Famous people read a modern love essay, and then the author is interviewed and expands upon their ideas and experiences. It’s magical, and the episodes average 23-25 minutes, so it isn’t a massive time commitment.

Movies:

  • I found out about The Last Five Years on Twitter. It’s a musical, so if you’re not into that you’ll probably want to avoid it. But there are some great tunes (if you follow me on Spotify, sorry that the soundtrack is all I listen to these days), and it’s a poignant story about looking back on the progression of a relationship from beginning to end. It’s on Netflix. This will have to do until one day when I can see it live.

Articles: 

Random Cool Stuff:

  • Back at my first-ever Association for College Unions International (ACUI) regional conference, there was a keynote who called himself The Ripples Guy. I enjoyed his keynote and subscribed to his “weekly splash of inspiration”, which features two quotes and then some deeper discussion on whatever the topic is. I always read it before I go to work on Monday morning, and I think it’s a worthy addition to your inbox. Subscribe here.
  • I live in Charlotte, NC. Some of you also live here. If you’re not subscribed to The Charlotte Agenda‘s daily newsletters and/or following them on social media, you’re missing out on great local information.

One thought on “GP’s link roundup, pt. 1

Leave a comment