The World Beyond You and Your Cat

Today, a friend asked me if I had ever watched Brene Brown’s “The Power of Vulnerability” TED talk. I have many times. But I needed a refresher today, a reminder that vulnerability is important and necessary, because it’s also scary. To be vulnerable means to open yourself to endless love, support and loyalty from others, but it takes extraordinary courage. I have always admired people who open themselves easily, who fall in love quickly and embrace others without a second guess. It’s so inspiring.

I’m not that person. I hate being vulnerable because it make me feel defenseless. Being vulnerable means knowing you’re able to be hurt by another and choosing to risk it anyway. It’s allowing someone into your world, even if it’s safer just to live there with only you and your cat. You let them in because it adds color to your world, it provides laughter and joy, and it provides someone to share in your failures and your victories. It doesn’t mean it’s easy. Vulnerability is extremely hard for me, but I understand and appreciate its power.

So I ask this of you, don’t take others’ vulnerability for granted. Recognize a gift when it’s given and protect it the best you can. Know that when a person is vulnerable, they are risking their heart, something that can be easily broken. Once that trust is broken, you might never get it back. With vulnerability comes the opportunity for love, trust and kindness and sometimes that’s worth all of the risk. Vulnerability is powerful gift, and to be cliché “with great power, comes great responsibility”. Don’t mess it up.

amb

Leave a comment